Sports

Hooker vs Ramirez: Jose Ramires adds WBO title to his WBC crown | Boxing News

By July 28, 2019 No Comments
Hooker vs Ramirez: Jose Ramires adds WBO title to his WBC crown | Boxing News

“I want the other titles, that’s my main goal,” Jose Ramirez.

By Peter Gilbert

Last Updated: 28/07/19 6:02am

0:30

Jose Ramirez ruthlessly knocked out Maurice Hooker in the sixth round

Jose Ramirez ruthlessly knocked out Maurice Hooker in the sixth round

Jose Ramirez scored a sensational stoppage against Maurice Hooker to unify the super-lightweight titles at the College Park Center in Arlington, Texas.

Ramirez added the WBO title to his WBC crown after stopping Hooker in six rounds in front of his hometown fans and handing the Texan his first loss of his professional defeat of his career.

The 26-year-old caught an off-balance Hooker with his first punch and was wrongly credited with a knockdown shortly afterwards when his man stumbled over when back-tracking after his lead foot had been trodden on.

Maurice Hooker  touched down in the opening round

Maurice Hooker touched down in the opening round

Jose Ramirez  pins  Maurice Hooker on the ropes

Jose Ramirez pins Maurice Hooker on the ropes

Hooker started off the second round by pumping out his long jab, but Ramirez responded by backing his opponent up onto the ropes and swinging in some hurtful hooks to the body before switching to the head.

The hometown hero landed to the head and body in a lively third before Ramirez came charging back with combinations and both men were still trading punches after the bell had sounded.

After an evenly fought fourth, Ramirez caught his opponent with a left hook to the head in the fifth and hurt him with a body shot, but Hooker battled back strongly and caught the Californian upstairs with swinging shots.

Referee Mark Nelson jumps in to call a halt during the sixth round

Referee Mark Nelson jumps in to call a halt during the sixth round

Ramirez sent Hooker staggering backwards onto the ropes with a heavy left hook in the sixth round and immediately followed up with a barrage of heads shots to force referee Mark Nelson’s intervention on the 1:48 mark.

Leave a Reply